T20 World Cup Winners List from 2007 to 2024

Spread the love

It was actually in 2003 when the T20 was first introduced officially by the England and Wales Cricket Board, and from the get-go, it was pretty much a hit. That was pretty understandable too because this short format was more thrilling and exciting, and the fans were able to see the explosive side of the batsmen and bowlers too on the field, you know? And then, in 2007, it was the first time ever when international cricket adopted this new format and then came the first-ever T20 World Cup. Today, we’ll be talking all about the T20 World Cup, from the very start to the present day. In short, today’s post is all about the T20 World Cup Winners List From 2007 to 2024, so yeah, let’s get to it right away then, shall we?


Year Total Teams Host Winner Runner-Up
2007 12 South Africa India Pakistan
2009 12 England Pakistan Sri Lanka
2010 12 West Indies England Australia
2012 12 Sri Lanka West Indies Sri Lanka
2014 16 Bangladesh Sri Lanka India
2016 16 India West Indies England
2021 16 UAE, Oman Australia New Zealand
2022 16 Australia England Pakistan
2024 20 United States, West Indies


India South Africa

T20 World Cup 2007 Winner – India

The first ever T20 World Cup happened back in 2007, when in total, there we 12 teams battling it out for the title of this tournament. But it was actually India that became the winner of the T20 World Cup 2007 by defeating Pakistan in the final match, which took place in the Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg. India was a strong team from the get-go, especially because of the incredibly powerful batting lineup, like Gautam Gambhir, MS Dhoni, Yuvraj Singh, Rohit Sharma, Yusuf Pathan, and others. And yes, this was the very tournament where Yuvraj Sign made the record of hitting six sixes in an over in the history of the T20 format. But yeah, it was not all batting for India that did the magic, nah, the bowling attack was super good too.

T20 World Cup 2009 Winner – Pakistan

Now, after just one year of the gap, there was the second edition of the T20 World Cup which every cricket fan was excited about. At the moment though, teams like India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and South Africa are the best ones out there. But this time, it was Pakistan that took the trophy home. Now, the Pakistan team in 2009’s T20 World Cup had a number of the same players as the first tournament, and that kinda was the reason why Pakistan performed super well this time. In the semifinals, Pakistan defeated South Africa and now was the time to face Sri Lanka in the final match. That day in the Lord’s, London, Sri Lanka put up a decent score of 138/6 in 20 overs, but that wasn’t even an issue for Pakistan because they won the match by 8 wickets in just 18.4 overs.

T20 World Cup 2010 Winner – England

So, back in 2010, the T20 World Cup was all the buzz, right? And guess what? England totally nailed it, grabbing their first big win in an ICC gig. This win was huge, showing everyone how they’ve upped their game in quick cricket. The action was all in the Caribbean, with the best teams throwing down, but England? They were on another level. They smashed Australia in the finals at Kensington Oval, Barbados, showing off their top-notch batting and bowling. And folks, Kevin Pietersen was the star of the show, snagging the Player of the Tournament, with Eoin Morgan and Paul Collingwood killing it too. England set the bar high this time, showing they’re not messing around in T20 cricket.

T20 World Cup 2012 Winner – West Indies

Jump to 2012, and the T20 World Cup in Sri Lanka was where the West Indies shone, grabbing their first title. It was all about big hits and big vibes, with Darren Sammy’s crew winning hearts all over. The final against Sri Lanka in Colombo? Edge-of-your-seat stuff, but the West Indies pulled through, all thanks to Marlon Samuels’ epic innings. And who could forget Chris Gayle breaking out into “Gangnam Style” to celebrate? That was the West Indies for you, pure joy and a truckload of entertainment.

T20 World Cup 2014 Winner – Sri Lanka

Fast forward to 2014, and Sri Lanka finally got their hands on the trophy in Bangladesh, after being the Runner-Up too long. Beating India in the final in Dhaka was the cherry on top, especially for legends Kumar Sangakkara and Mahela Jayawardene, who bowed out of T20 internationals on a high note. Sangakkara was the best batsman to support the team, getting the runs needed, and with Lasith Malinga’s funky but super-fast bowling and leadership, Sri Lanka showed they were the bosses. What a way to say goodbye to those two cricket giants!

T20 World Cup 2016 Winner – West Indies

Let’s rewind to 2016, the T20 World Cup was all the buzz in India, and who comes out on top? The West Indies, snagging the crown for the second time and making history while at it. The finale was straight-up fire, with Carlos Brathwaite turning hero and banging out four sixes back-to-back in the last over against England. Talk about clutch! Heavy hitters like Chris Gayle and Marlon Samuels were key, but Brathwaite? Dude stole the show and etched that win in the annals of T20 greatness.

T20 World Cup 2021 Winner – Australia

Zoom to 2021, and bam, Australia’s turn to shine in the T20 World Cup held in the UAE and Oman. They’d been waiting for this moment, ready to show they could dominate T20I just like they have other formats, taking down New Zealand in the final. This victory was all about teamwork, with Mitchell Marsh, David Warner, and Adam Zampa stepping up big. Warner’s comeback? Stellar, showing he’s still a beast with the bat.

T20 World Cup 2022 Winner – England

And then came the year 2022, and it was the first time ever that the T20 World Cup was happening back to back, you know? It was all going down in Australia this time, and who knew that England was about to get their hands on the 2nd title of the T20 World Cup? They were the second team to do so after West Indies in the history of this World Cup format. As a cricket fan, you might already know that England is one of the pioneers of this sport, so no wonder why their team is so strong in literally every format, and that’s precisely what we saw in the eighth edition of the T20 World Cup. Talking about the final, it was Pakistan Vs England at the Melbourne Cricket Ground. Pakistan’s team was able to put up a decent score of 137/8, but that wasn’t even an issue for England because they had players like Jos Buttler, Ben Stokes, and Sam Curran. In the end, England easily ended up winning the match and the tournament by 5 wickets.

T20 World Cup 2024 Winner – India

As we’re all were waiting for the next aka the ninth edition of the T20 World Cup which is set to begin in June 2024. But this time though, there will actually be 20 teams battling it out for the trophy, yes, there are new teams like the United States, Canada, Papua New Guinea, Oman, and Namibia.

South Africa and India qualify for the final match of the world cup after clearing several rounds and the final match was full of entertainment and thrill and it was really unpredictable that who could won this match till last ball but India make it and won by 7 runs and Virat Kohli becomes the man of the match while Jaspreet Bumrah becomes the man of the tournament. The final score was as follows:

India –176/7 (20 Overs)
South Africa – 169/8 (20 Overs)

That’s all there is for now. See, there is time in the T20 World Cup 2024, but we’ll keep you posted with the details once the winner and runner-up are announced. And this is the post that you should bookmark because we’ll be adding every upcoming T20 World Cup details right here. So yeah, that’s that.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *